People

Experts at and beyond Duke University are actively involved in the Belt and Road Initiative at Duke. Their expertise spans from conservation to international conflict resolution. The following is a list of experts participating in this initiative.

 

Expert's Name                 

Email

Expertise

Mike Bergin

michael.bergin@duke.edu

Air Quality, Climate, Human Health, Renewable Energy

Mark Borsuk

mark.borsuk@duke.edu

Scenario Analysis,Risk assessment, Climate Change, Environmental Modeling, Statistics

Prasenjit Duara

prasenjit.duara@duke.edu

Chinese History, Nationalism, China Asian Connections, Environmental History, Religion and Environment

Eve Duffy

eve.duffy@duke.edu

Germany, 16th-21st Centuries

Dalia Patino Echeverri

dalia.patino@duke.edu

Electricity, Environmental Lifecycle Assessment, Decision Making under Uncertainty

Jackson Ewing

jackson.ewing@duke.edu

 

Gary Gereffi

ggereffi@duke.edu

Global Value Chains; Environmental, Social & Economic Upgrading; Industry 4.0; China; South Korea; Kazakhstan

Indermit Gill

indermit.gill@duke.edu

Middle Income Economies

Brian Hare

b.hare@duke.edu

Conservation Psychology, Experimental Psychology, Cognitive Evolution, Primates

Marc Jeuland

marc.jeuland@duke.edu

Energy Policy, Environmental Health, International cooperation

Francis Lethem

francis.lethem@duke.edu

Development Management; Conflict Sensitive Development; Project Generation, Design, and Appraisal

Yating Li

yating.li@duke.edu

Environmental Economics, Household Energy, China

Ralph Litzinger

rlitz@duke.edu

Culture and Politics of Ethnicity, Nationalism, and Post-socialism in China

Elizabeth Losos

elizabeth.losos@duke.edu

Conservation, Forests, Tropical

 

Melanie Manion

melanie.manion@duke.edu

Political Institutions, Political Selection, Corruption

Sara Mason

sara.mason@duke.edu

Biodiversity, Ecosystem Eervices, Environmental Policy

Robyn Meeks

robyn.meeks@duke.edu

Energy, Water, Economics, Infrastructure, Environment

Michael Merson

michael.merson@duke.edu

Global Health Governance; South-South Collaboration; Sub-Saharan Africa

Natalia Miroviskaia

nataliam@duke.edu

Conflict-Sensitive Development,Sustainable Development,Energy Strategy and Policy

Lydia Olander

lydia.olander@duke.edu 

Environmental Policy, Socio-Ecological Systems, Ecosystem Services, Environmental Markets

Alex Pfaff

alex.pfaff@duke.edu

Developing Countries, Deforestation, Roads, Parks, Concessions and Certification

Stuart Pimm

stuartpimm@me.com 

Biodiversity, Conservation

Billy Pizer

billy.pizer@duke.edu

Energy,Climate Change, Multilateral Finance

Phyllis Pomerantz

phyllis.pomerantz@duke.edu

Foreign Aid, International Development, Governance

John Poulsen

john.poulsen@duke.edu

Tropical Ecology, Conservation Biology, Africa, Elephants, Wildlife, Forests

John Virdin

john.virdin@duke.edu

MarinePolicy, Fisheries Policy, Ocean Economy

Erika Weinthal

erika.weinthal@duke.edu

Governance, Water, Energy

Giovanni Zanalda

giovanni.zanalda@duke.edu

Emerging Markets; Financial History; Globalization; International Development

Junjie Zhang

junjie.zhang@duke.edu

Environmental Economics, Environmental Policy,Climate Change, Air Pollution, China